Former Australian Minister appointed Chair of IFM Investors

Board Move


Global institutional funds manager, IFM Investors, has announced the appointment of Greg Combet as chair of the IFM Investors Board, effective 1 January 2019.

Combet will succeed retiring chair, Garry Weaven.

Combet joined the IFM Investors board in 2014 following six years in Cabinet, Ministerial and Parliamentary Secretary roles in the Australian Government. During this time, he was Minister for Industry and Innovation, Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, and Minister for Defence Personnel, Science and Materiel. Prior to this, he held the role of ACTU secretary for eight years and assistant secretary for six years.

Weaven said of his successor: “Under Greg’s leadership, IFM Investors will continue to retain our differentiated cultural heritage and investor-first approach, with the aim to deliver strong net returns to working people who benefit from our increasingly global institutional funds management business”.

Combet added: "My aim as chair is to continue the journey that Garry started and to build IFM Investors’ standing as a long-term investor, aligned to investor objectives, while respecting labour rights and its environmental and social responsibilities. I believe the board is well equipped with a diversity of skills and experience to support the executive team in its objectives."

IFM Investors has also announced the appointment of new board members, Alison Larsson and Grant Dempsey, who commenced on 1 July 2018 and Cath Bowtell who commences on 1 January 2019. These appointees join John Denton AO, who was appointed to the board on 1 January 2018.


January 2019

Deputy Chair

IFM Investors


January 2019


IFM Investors

News reports on this move